Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

[Env. side 1]
Mrs. Billie Morton
2150 Lincoln Park W.
Chicago Ill.
United States America
U.S.A.

[Env. side 2]
Mrs Mascot [envelope torn—illegible]
c/o Mr. Zealenka
531 Cochabamba 531
Buenos Aires
Argentine

P. 1
November 11th, 1917

My darling little Nondas and Mrs. Morton,

I have not written to you since Buenos Aires since that time have been in Mondevedio [sic] Rosario and we played again in Buenos Aires. And since what has happened has upset me so much that I really did not feal [sic] like writing You see from Buenos Aires the company was to go to Caracas Venezuela well as the only way to get there was to sail [page torn—illegible] Trinidad on a english [sic] boat for this every body needed a passport well all got passports except my husband another boy and myself because my husband is a Bohemain a [sic] Austrian subject and I althought [sic] American because I am married I am also Austrian [illegible] and the other boy is really Austrian. Well we simply could not go on the boat but at the last moment we and get on the boat but here at Rio we had to get off because we had no passport so we have been here already since the 25th October and we are waiting for the boat to take us back to Buenos Aires about 21 November in the mean time the Co has arrived

P. 2
in Caracus [sic] which is 12 day [sic] by boat from here and Rio from Buenos Aires is 5 days. We can make up a Vaudiville [sic] act in B.A. But I feel to [sic] terrible for words for I cannot even get back to the states because I am married to a Austian [sic] I dare not tell Mama really how serious it is and that I cant get back for the American consul told me so I could get back now till after the war. I have never heard from you since we were in Lima about last June also from my Mama I also have had no news since June 13th I have written to mama all the time and I have written to you from every place I hope you have not written to go 309 Broadway for if you have the letters are lost as something has gone wrong at the office and no one gets anymore letters from there. I am sending you new absolutely my permanent address for the next year it is

Mrs. Mascot Vesely
c/o Mr Zealenka
531 Cochabamba
Buenos Aires
Argentine

It is in care of a friend of ours who will forward me all letters no matter where I am we are now here in Rio which is certainly a beautifull [sic] city as you will see by some of the

P. 3
Post cards I am enclosing [sic] this letter for little Nondas. I would be very pleased if you would write to my Mama once I am just sick with worry for no news and now stranded here it is all very serious as I say I could not let Mama know one half of what I am suffering here because poor darling she would worry to [sic] much. I am really burdening you dear friends with my trouble. But I hope things will come and better how are things going with you. I hope I made a mistake your last letter is dated from [illegible] 1917 [page torn—two illegible words] in [page torn—two illegible words] even now but now I know you are really two of my friends and who care of me I write for otherwise would not have the heart you are certainly as a mother to me in your advice and comforting words you write. I do not like people who pretend to be ones friend and all the time do not care what happend [sic] to one or have no sympathy. It is not sympathy I need but its [sic] good to feel that you have to [sic] friends who really love one I hope I am not flattering myself to [sic] much about that.  I am sorry I cannot be very cheerfull [sic] for this all comes with such a blow for I fully intended to come home now for Christmas but here I am

P. 4
the Lord knows how many years I may be exiled from home and Oh I am so homesick for my Mama and Baby just think on Decembe [sic] 23 she will be two years old walking and talking and I can’t see her I have spent nearly every night crying my self [sic] to sleep. Mme. Pavlova was very sweet she gave me some letters of introduction to several people and thinks I might be able to teach [illegible] they are all english [sic] and I am now married as they say to an Austrian They certainly could no[illegible] lay me. Mr. Dandre lefts [sic] us a hundred dollars each but here we have had to live now for 4 weeks and our living and cost was $2 each a day without little necesat[page torn—illegible] one [page torn—illegible] then when [page torn—illegible] get to B.A. we will have about $20 left now on that we are soppose [sic] to get costumes to get work with for without costumes senery [sic] and music one can get no work for it is not like in the States where one could do work in musical comedies etc. here there is only a chance in Vaudiville [sic]. But we have work wired to Mr. Dandre telling him we must have more money and we hope we get some more otherwise the Lord help us. But my Mama must have no idea of all this it would worry her to death and really as I am strong and healthy I perhaps can get some work in a english [sic] Business house if I hide the fact that I am married but as

P. 5
soon as they hear [???] I am married all is finished Well I am living in hopes that all will be alright yet. I am sending you a few amature [sic] made Xmas cards as here they onl do not have Xmas cards, we are getting hotter weather every day for in South America Xmas is midsummer and Jully [sic] is winter September Oct. is Spring and May & June is Autumn so you see it is just the reverse here. Here in Brazil it is funny for one American dollar you get 3,850 Reis. The smallets [sic] coin being 20 Reis wich [sic] is very seldom seen the smallest in general use is 100 Reis. There fore [sic] for 20 dollars you get 76000 Reis it sounds a lot but really is nothing money spends itself very quickly here every thing [sic] being very expensive we pay 8,000 Reis a day for Room and Bord [sic] our hotel is very nice but cheaper ones cost just as much. Well my dear friends I suppose you are sick and tired of my woes and troubles and invite me to finish my letter as I will. I sincerely hope you are having better times and you are feeling better.

Always with love and kisses and Wishing you both al very Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year. Your Friend,
Mascot

[Margin of P. 5]
Mama’s address is c/o Mrs. Louise Frank.
150 West 62nd Street
New York City N.Y.
U.S.A.

P. 6
P.C.
I wonder if I might ask you a great favor in regards as giving reference for me. You see dear Mrs. Morton you knew me before I got married. I am now writing to Mr. Lancing my only hope is to get a permit from him for me to return to the states. I was born August 9th 1896 at Lake Titus Malone my fathers [sic] name is Edwin Osboldeston and my Mama married a second time to Mr. F. W. Lucas.

Baby was born in Pittsburg and I was married in Chicago Ill. August 2nd 1915 which you knew as you knew me when I was single yet. I will mention your name in hope you will not be to [sic] much trouble in case any information is asked. This is my only hopes [sic] that I can say.

With Love.
M

P.C I am also enclosing a snapshot of Pavlova and Poppy on the beach at Bella Vista Panama.